What are Michigan’s penalties for hunting without a license?
All experienced hunters know that preparation is the key to a successful hunt. As you prepare for your next outing, which for the Law Office of John Freeman, PLLC will be this Sunday, November 15, 2020 – the Michigan Firearms Deer Season Opener – you will need to make sure you are abiding by all state and federal regulations. Even a small mistake can result in serious legal consequences, including jail time and costly fines.
Hunting requires a license in Michigan
One of the most common mistakes hunters make is hunting without a valid license. Both residents and nonresidents hunting in Michigan are required to have a base license, as well as additional hunting licenses for different game species. The base license allows hunter to hunt small game and the cost will vary based on whether the hunter is a junior, resident, nonresident, or senior resident.
In order to purchase a base license, you will have to successfully complete hunter education and obtain a hunter safety certificate, unless you are exempt from doing so.
What happens if I hunt without a license?
A permit violation of any kind can result in a fine ranging from $50 to $500 and/or a maximum of 90 days in jail. People who have three convictions over the past five years could face additional fines and jailtime.
If you are facing charges for hunting without a license or another hunting or fishing violation, legal assistance can be beneficial. Your attorney may be able to find a way to lessen your sentence or resolve the case, so you can get back to enjoying the hunting season. Contact a Michigan Outdoors Law attorney at the Law Office of John Freeman. Even though he will be out hunting this deer season, Mr. Freeman’s staff will be able to reach him for assistance if you have been ticketed by the DNR, County Sheriff, or MSP for a hunting or fishing violation.
Good luck this year and stay safe!