Law Office of John Freeman
Free Consultation: 248.918.0790
Toll Free: 866.720.3708
24/7 Emergency Line: 313.330.2653
Main Nav

Shoplifting Misdemeanors

Shoplifting Misdemeanor v. Felony: The Consequences for Shoplifting are More Serious than Most Expect

Shoplifting in Michigan is no longer just considered a petty offense subject to a light jail sentence and/or a fine. Depending on the value of the goods involved, Michigan laws now require that shoplifters be charged with retail fraud of the first, second, or third degree.

If the value of the goods involved is $1,000 or more, shoplifters can be charged with retail fraud in the first degree, which is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000 or three times the value of the property, whichever is greater.

If the value of the goods involved is $200 or more but less than $1,000, shoplifters can be charged with retail fraud in the second degree, which is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in prison and/or a fine of not more than $2,000 or three times the value of the property, whichever is greater.

If the value of the goods involved is less than $200, shoplifters can be charged with retail fraud in the third degree, which is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 93 days in prison and/or a fine of not more than $500 or three times the value of the property, whichever is greater.

At sentencing, the penalties for a retail fraud conviction can also be enhanced depending on the defendant's prior criminal history and whether the defendant has committed any co-occurring offenses.

Therefore, if you or a family member has been charged with retail fraud or any other criminal theft offense, it is important that you contact an experienced Michigan criminal defense attorney today so that you can gain a better understanding of your rights and the possible sentence that you may face.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information